Daily Obsession: Empathy and the Net of Light

These Daily Obsessions serve as a replacement thought for the worries and judgements that usually occupy our minds. For English, scroll down.

Nederlands:

“Ik kon de scheuren in het Net van Licht voelen alsof ze in mijn eigen lichaam zaten en de pijn was ondraagelijk…Alles is één, zeiden de Grootmoeders…Via het Net van Licht zien, voelen en kennen jullie elkaars pijn en vreugde. Je leeft en kunt niet leven op een eiland, hoe hard je dat ook probeert….Je voelde de pijn van dat land omdat het jouw pijn is….Minutenlang bleef ik gefocust in mijn hart en liet het Net van Licht zijn werk doen en terwijl ik dat deed werd mijn ademhaling langzamer en zwol de aanwezigheid van yin in mij aan totdat ik alleen nog maar vrede voelde.” – Sharon McErlane en de Grootmoeders in “Een oproep van de Grootmoeders”, p. 295

Empathisch zijn heeft zijn voor- en nadelen. De Grootmoeders zeggen dat we allmaal één zijn, en dat we elkaars pijn ook delen, maar sommigen zijn meer open tot de ervaring van een open hart dan anderen. Maar leven met een open hart is een grote dienst, als we open tot ons eigen pijn en de pijn van een ander en als we het Net van Licht gebruiken om te helen wat we voelen. Als we ons eigen pijn helen, we helen – en voorkomen – de pijn van een ander.

Vandaag, open jouw hart, laat de gevoelens binnen, en laat het Net van Licht zijn genezend werk doen.

Golden Eagle Feather

 

English:

“Ik could feel the rips and tears in the Net of Light as if they were in my own body and the pain was intolerable…Alles is één, zeiden de Grootmoeders…Via the Net of Light, you can see, feel and know everyone else’s pain and joy. You do not and cannot live on an island, no matter how hard you try…You felt the pain of that country because it is  your pain….For several minutes I stayed focused on my heart and let the Net of Light do its work. While I did that, my breathing slowed down and the presence of yin swelled in me until I only felt peace.” – Sharon McErlane and the Grandmothers in “Our Love is Our Power”, around p. 290

Being an empathetic person has advantages and disadvantages. The Grandmothers say that we are all one, that we all share each other’s pain, but some of us are more open to the experience of an open heart than others. Living with an open heart is a great service, however, when we open to our own and another’s pain and use the Net of Light to heal what we are feeling. When we heal our own pain, we also heal – and prevent – others’ pain.

Today, open your heart, let the feelings come in, and then let the Net of Light do its healing work.

Golden Eagle Feather

Leave a Reply

