Daily Obsession: “Play with us!”

These Daily Obsessions are like a vitamin for the soul. Take one daily for obsessive worrying and criticizing. For English, scroll down.

Nederlands:

“‘Grootmoeders, wat willen jullie dat ik doe gedeurende deze periode?’ vroeg ik. Speel met ons, zeiden ze. Mijn mond viel open. Wat?'” – Sharon McErlane and the Grandmothers in “De Grootmoeders spreken”, p. 197

De Grootmoeders staan erop dat alles gemakkelijk word. Wij werken allemaal veel te veel – dat is een van de symptomen van teveel yang. Om yin en yang in balans te brengen, moeten we meer spelen, meer relaxeren, meer genieten.

De laatste tijd heb ik meer dan normaal gewerkt en gisteren heeft een plotse verlangen naar SPELEN in mij opgeborreld. Ik wil onnozel doen, naar een komiek op televisie kijken, en lachen voor geen reden. Een paar dagen geleden ben ik in meditatie naar “mijn Grootmoeder” gegaan – natuurlijk met een probleem om aan te kaarten en een hoofd vol zorgen – en mijn Grootmoeder, die normaal gezien wat nors overkomt, is in een lieflijke jonge vrouw veranderd. Ze nam me bij de hand en begon de heuvel met mij af te rollen. “Speel,” heeft ze gezegd. (Niet het antwoord dat ik verwachte – tenslotte was mijn probleem toch zwaar en serieus en moest onmiddellijke opgelost worden?!? Blijkbaar niet!)

Klaarblijkelijk is deze commando om te “spelen!” niet enkel voor mij bestemd. Het is tijd dat we allemaal een rustpauze nemen, een fuif organiseren, met de kindjes onnozel doen, en vals zingen uit volle borst. Samen. Met een schaterlach.

Ik wens je een leuke dag vandaag!

Golden Eagle Feather

 

English:

“‘Grandmothers, what do you want to me do at this time?’ I asked. Play with us, they said. My mouth fell open. ‘What?'” – Sharon McErlane and the Grandmothers in “A Call to Power’, around p. 194

The Grandmothers insist that everything be easy. We all work too damn hard – that is one of the symptoms of too much yang. To bring yin and yang into balance, we need to play more, relax more, enjoy more.

I have been working harder than usual recently and just yesterday, the desire to PLAY just bubbled up inside of me, totally spontaneously. I want to be silly, watch a comedian on TV, and laugh for no good reason. A few days ago, I went to “my Grandmother” in meditation – with a problem to solve and a head full of worry, of course – and my normally stern old Indian Grandmother morphed into a lively young woman, took me by the hand, and started rolling down hills with me. “Play,” she told me. (Not the answer I was expecting – after all, wasn’t my problem heavy and serious and needed immediate attention?!? Apparently not!)

Evidently this command to “play!” is not just for me. It’s time for all of us to just take a break, have a party, get silly with the kids, and sing out of tune at the tops of our lungs. Together. With laughter.

Wishing you a fun-filled day today,

Golden Eagle Feather

 

 

Leave a Reply

