Daily Obsession: Dancing with life

These Daily Obsessions are like a vitamin for the soul. Take one (pretty much) daily for obsessive worrying and criticizing. For English, scroll down.

Nederlands:

Je zult gelukkiger en gelukkiger worden wanneer je danst met het leven en wanneer het leven danst met jou.” – De Grootmoeders door Sharon McErlane in “De Grootmoeders spreken” p. 220

Ik denk dat de Grootmoeders en ik hebben een verschillend idee van wat “het leven” is. Als ik met teveel yang zit, denk ik dat het leven een grote to-do lijstje is. Het is een eindeloze serie van handelingen en dingen dat ik nog moet doen. Maar de Grootmoeders zeggen dat het leven is continu aan het veranderen, een serie van evoluties. Wij maken ons ongelukkig omdat we deze constante veranderende schouwspel willen stilzetten en vastklampen. Ze zeggen dat het leven draait rond het zijn, niet het doen.

Vandaag voel ik dat ik weinig wijsheid kan delen over hoe we met het leven kunnen dansen, want hoe kan men met een to-do lijstje en een eindeloze serie van klokken en deadlines dansen? Ik zal het aan de Grootmoeders moeten vragen.

Eerst vroeg ik aan mijn 8-jarige dochter wat het betekent om “met het leven te dansen”. Zij antwoordde, “ik denk dat het betekent…gewoon spelen, en gelukkig zijn met het leven.”

Okay, daar is mijn antwoord – het antwoord voor ons allemaal. Vandaag, vraag jezelf hoe jij ook “gewoon kan spelen en met het leven gelukkig kan zijn” binnen de kader van je eigen leven!

Veel liefs,

Golden Eagle Feather

English:

You will become happier and happier when you dance with life and when life dances with you.” – The Grandmothers through Sharon McErlane in “A Call to Power”, around p. 218

I think the Grandmothers and I have a different notion of what “life” is. When I get overdosed on yang, I think that life is one big to-do list. It is an endless series of actions to take and things that I ought to be doing. But the Grandmothers say that life is endlessly changing, a series of evolutions. We make ourselves unhappy because we wish to stop this continuously changing show and clamp down on it. They say that life is about being, not doing.

Today, I feel that I have little wisdom to share about how to dance with life, because how can one dance with a to-do list and an endless series of clocks and deadlines? I will have to ask the Grandmothers.

I first asked my 8-year-old daughter what it meant to “dance with life.” She replied, “I think it just means to play…and be happy with life.”

Okay, there’s my answer – the answer for all of us. Today, ask yourself how you can “just play and be happy with life” within the context of your own life!

Much love,

Golden Eagle Feather

2 comments on “Daily Obsession: Dancing with life

  1. Debby Moss says:

    Yep, that’s pretty much perfect, thank you! I’m finding times pretty tough right now – no particular reason, just everything feels heavy. I get grounded by watching my 4yr old grandson just ‘play with stuff’: no purpose, no pressure, just the pleasure of play. And why do we feel that pleasure’s ‘not enough’?? Love Debra x

  2. Why indeed are pleasure and play “not enough”?…an excellent question! Love, Golden Eagle Feather

Leave a Reply

