Daily Obsession: Waking up in the morning

These Daily Obsessions are like a vitamin for the soul. Take one daily for obsessive worrying and criticizing. The Grandmothers are but one face of the Divine; substitute another face if you prefer. For English, scroll down.

Nederlands:

“…[D]e ochtend begroeten met een gebed is een ceremonie. … Je wordt iedere dag wakker door genade. Erken dit. Iedere dag bevat giften en lessen – elke dag. Vier het ontvangen van deze cadeaus. Je weet immers niet wat de dag zal je brengen! Hun handen wrijvend, zeiden ze: ‘Dát is spannend.’”- De Grootmoeders door Sharon McErlane in De Grootmoeders spreken, pp. 198-99

Vind jij het moeilijk om ‘s morgens op te staan? Vandaag om 6 uur toen mijn alarm ging, ik heb zeker  niet gedacht, “O, spannend! Welke gifts en lessen zou deze dag brengen? Ik kan niet wachten om het allemaal te ontdekken!” Ik besef dat ik de dag meestal begin door over mijn to-do lijstje na te denken en vervolgens de Grootmoeders de smeken om me de kracht geven om door de dag te kunnen. Ik kan dat niet echt aanraden als ochtendceremonie. Dus heb ik de Grootmoeders om advies gevraagd over en aangenamer manier om op te staan, en ze hebben me de perfecte citaat aangeboden als antwoord.

Vandaag, denk eens na over jouw ochtendroutine. Welke gedachten heb jij als je wakker wordt? Welke handelingen gebruik je om de dag te beginnen? Speelt het bidden, het ceremonie, of gelijk welke gedachte over het Goddelijke een rol in jouw ochtendroutine? Vandaag heb je de mogelijkheid om een positiever, dieper en aangenamer ochtendceremonie te creëeren dan wat je gewoon bent.

Een paar ideeën zijn om ochtendyoga te doen, om de windrichtingen te begroeten, om contact met de Grootmoeders te maken of een gebed uit een andere traditie op te zeggen. Persoonlijk zal ik mijn eigen negatief, yangachtig en zware ochtendgedachten nu vervangen door een dankgebed te zeggen waardoor ik de Grootmoeders dank voor alle giften en lessen uit de dag daarvoor en ze op voorhand danken voor de giften en lessen van de dag die begint.

Ik wens je een dag gevuld met cadeaus!

Liefs,

Golden Eagle Feather

 

English:

“…[G]reeting the morning with a prayer is a ceremony. … You wake up every morning thanks to grace. Recognize this. Every day contains gifts and lessons – every day. Celebrate receiving these presents. You never know what the day will bring you! Rubbing their hands, they said, ‘Now, that is exciting.’” – The Grandmothers via Sharon McErlane in A Call to Power, around p. 185

Do you have a hard time getting up in the morning? Today, when my alarm went off at 6 am, I guarantee you that I was not thinking, “Oh, how exciting, I wonder which gifts and lessons this day contains. I just can’t wait to find out what they are!” I realized that I normally start the day by thinking about my to-do list and then praying to the Grandmothers for the strength to get up and face the day. I don’t recommend that particular ceremony; it’s a downer. So I asked the Grandmothers for advice about how to get up in a more pleasant way, and in reply they gave me the very page I was hoping for.

Today, think about your habitual morning routine. What thoughts do you think upon waking? What actions do you take to start the day? Does prayer, ceremony, or any thought of the Divine play a role in your morning routine? Today is an opportunity to create a more meaningful, more positive and more pleasant morning ceremony for yourself.

Some ideas are doing a morning yoga routine, or greeting the directions, contacting the Grandmothers or saying a prayer from another religious tradition. I think I’ll replace my habitual negative, heavy and yangy morning thoughts with a prayer of gratitude for the gifts and lessons of the day before, and then thanking the Grandmothers in advance for the gifts and lessons of the day ahead.

I wish you a day filled with gifts!

Love,

Golden Eagle Feather

4 comments on “Daily Obsession: Waking up in the morning

  1. Elisabeth De Man says:

    ‘s Morgens als ik wakker wordt, en het niet vergeet, begin ik met te zeggen: ‘Thank you God for this new day and this new chance to be my Higher Self’. Ik las dit in het boek van N.D. Walsch. Als ik dit opzeg voel ik dankbaarheid opkomen en ben ik ‘in the flow’. Of ik verbind mij met de energie van de Grootmoeders, of ik doe beide, afhankelijk van de behoefte.
    Thanks for sharing your messages.
    Elisabeth

  2. Great idea. Translation: “in the morning when I wake up, if I don’t forget, I begin by saying to myself, “Thank you God for this new day and this new chance to be my Higher Self.” I read this in the book by N.D. Walsch. When I say this I feel gratitude and I am “in the flow”. Or I connect with the energy of the Grandmothers, or I do both, depending on what i need. Thanks for sharing your messages. Elisabeth

Leave a Reply

