Daily Obession: How to help someone who’s hurting

These Daily Obesssions are like a vitamin for the soul. Take one daily for obsessive worrying and criticizing. The Grandmothers are but one face of the Divine; substitute another if you prefer. For English, scroll down.

Nederlands:

Laat [onze liefde] naar mensen stromen die gevangen zitten in het labyrinthe van het leven. Laat haar naar iedereen stromen die op de een of de andere manier gevangen zit op een doodlopend pad. Probeer hen niet te redden. … Elk mens heeft zijn eigen timing, zijn eigen pad. Je moet je daar niet in mengen. Laat alleen onze liefde en zegeningen via jou naar hen toestromen. Laat ze stromen. Dat maakt hun pad gemakkelijker. Het zal hen bij wijze van spreken ‘losweken’.” – De Grootmoeders door Sharon McErlane in Een oproep van de Grootmoeders, p. 156

Jongens, was ik blij om deze citaat te zien opduiken. Een week of twee geleden had ik de Grootmoeders gevraagd om hoe ik best een paar vrienden en een collega kon helpen met hun (vrij ernstige) problemen. Ik was niet tevreden met wat ik al wist (“gooi het Net van Licht, geef hen tot het Goddelijke”) en alhoewel ik erover had gemediteerd, ik kreeg geen goeie antwoord. Deze boodschap is wat ik er op gewacht had. Blijkbaar moest ik gewoon eerst over seks schrijven, want zodra die seks-post gepubliceerd werd, kreeg ik dezelfde dat deze boodschap.

Trouwens, als het mijn doel was om veel volgelingen te krijgen, zou ik elke dag over seks schrijven. Dat heeft mijn statistieken een boost gegeven! Seks zou inderdaag een leuk onderwerp om de dag mee te beginnen, vind je niet? Maar vrees niet, ik ben zeker dat de Grootmoeders mij zullen vragen om af en toe over seks te schrijven. Ik heb wel veel over seks te vertellen. Maar vandaag wil ik schrijven over mensen helpen als je aan het lijden zijn.

Ik ben een softie voor mensen in pijn. Of mensen die gevangen zitten met een of ander probleem. Ik help zelfs mensen die mijn hulp niet willen. Dit vloeit uit een combinatie van het echt houden van mijn medemens, en het bezit van een ego en een drang naar controle. Wat de Grootmoeders hierover zeggen klop gelijk een hamer. Ik meng mezelf in het leven van anderen en ik doe alsof ik God ben. Ik denk dat ik diegene ben die weet wat de timing en het pad van iemand anders moet zijn, en als ze maar naar mij luisteren en doe wat ik zeg, zullen ze gelukkig zijn. Maar is dat echt waar? Kan ik daarvan zeker zijn? Nee, zeker niet!

Het enige waarvan ik zeker kan zijn is dat het voelt goed aan om geliefd en vastgehouden te zijn als ik zelf afzie. De Grootmoeders hebben me zojuist herinnerd dat dit de beste manier is om iemand te helpen. (We zullen enkel met de tijd weten of het me lukt om mijn poten van anderman’s problemen af te blijven.)

Vandaag, laat ons allemaal deze liefdevolle manier oefenen om een ander met zijn problemen te helpen: om hen Goddelijk liefde te verzenden, zonder enige verwachting. Laat die liefde hen “losweken” uit hun probleem zodat zij hun eigen weg kunnen vinden tot verder op het pad. Ik ben echt stoomverbaasd over hoe liefdevol deze benadering is – er is geen verbetering, geen oordeel, geen ongeduld, geen…probleem! met de problemen van iemand anders. Dit is Vrijheid!

Liefs,

Golden Eagle Feather

 

English:

Let [our love] flow toward people who are imprisoned in the labyrinth of life. Let it flow to everyone who is imprisioned on a dead-end street in one way or another. Do not try to rescue them. … Each person has his or her own timing, his or her own path. You don’t need to get mixed up in their business. Just let our love and blessings flow through you to them. Let them flow. This makes their path easier. It will ‘soak them out of it’, so to speak.” – The Grandmothers via Sharon McErlane in Our Love is Our Power, around p. 154

Boy, was I glad when this quotation showed up. Several days ago, I had asked the Grandmothers how I can best help a couple of friends and a colleague who all have some significant problems. I wasn’t satisfied with what I already know (“cast the Net of Light, give them to the care of the Divine”) and although I had meditated about it, I hadn’t gotten a satisfying answer. This message is the answer I was waiting for. I guess I just needed to write about sex first, because as soon as I published that post, I got this message the very same day.

By the way, if it were my goal to have a lot of followers, I would write about sex every day. That one sure made my statistics peak! Sex would indeed be a nice subject to start the day with, don’t you think? But have no fear, I’m sure that the Grandmothers will ask me to write about sex from time to time. I do have a lot to say on the subject. But today I want to write about helping people who are hurting.

I am a real sucker for people in pain. Or people who are stuck. I even help people who don’t want my help. This comes from the combination of truly caring about my fellow human beings, and having an ego and a fairly high need for control. The Grandmothers hit the nail on the head with the above quotation. I do get mixed up in other people’s business and I do act like I’m God. I think I am the one who knows what someone else’s timing should be, what their path should look like, and if they just listen to me and do what I say, they will be happier. But is that true? Can I be sure of that? No, of course not!

The only thing I can be sure of is that it feels good to be held and loved when I am hurting. The Grandmothers have reminded me that this is the best thing to do when someone else is hurting too. Only time will tell whether I can remember to keep my paws off of other people’s problems.

Today, let’s all practice this most loving way of helping others: to send them Divine love, without expectation. Let’s let that love soak them out of their problem so they find their own way further down their own path. Honestly, I am flabbergasted by how loving of an approach this is – there is no correction, no judgement, no impatience, no…problem! with someone else’s problems. This is Freedom!

Love,

Golden Eagle Feather

 

 

 

2 comments on “Daily Obession: How to help someone who’s hurting

  1. sab1mail says:

    thanking you all – physical and non-physical, for this profound-in-me post !

    As I am endeavoring on my newly chosen path of ‘healing’, i learn my own lessons of “wanting people to get it. get the healing. get clarity about their patterns.” …..

    i constantly remind myself of not ‘doing’ too much ‘healing’ … rather stay relaxed, open, confident of higher purpose ….. yet, i often have ‘an agenda’ …..

    what a path , what a learning ….
    i remind myself with this post of the ‘soaking beauty’ of my own letting go-process…..

    with sincere love to you all out there ! brothers and sisters ….. moved to tears right now ….

    s

  2. Bless you. As one heart heals, all hearts are supported in healing. Warmly, Golden Eagle Feather

Leave a Reply

