Daily Obsession: On compulsions and addictions

These Daily Obsessions are like a vitamin for the soul. Take one daily for obsessive worrying and criticizing. The Grandmothers are but one face of the Divine; feel free to substitute another if you prefer. For English, scroll down.

Nederlands:

Eenieder van jullie moet de vraag stellen: hoe kan ik de boodschap van de Grootmoeders in de praktijk brengen, hoe kan mijn leven deze boodschap weerspiegelen? En zodra je deze vraag hebt gesteld, luidt de volgende vraag: wat weerhoudt mij ervan deze boodschap nu in de praktijk te brengen? …. [Nadat je deze vraag beantwoord hebt, luidt de volgende:] Vraag vervolgens: hoe voel ik me dat ik me door deze belemmering laat weerhouden om deze boodschap in de praktijk te brengen?” – De Grootmoeders via Sharon McErlane in Een oproep van de Grootmoeders, p. 287-8

Wij allemaal doen dingen die niet goed zijn voor ons, maar we kunnen onszelf niet weerhouden van ze te doen. De lijst van compulsies en verslavingen is eindeloos. Als iets ons doet goed voelen – of slecht voelen – we kunnen eraan verslaafd geraken.

De boodschap van de Grootmoeders is fundamenteel een van vrijheid, vrede en vreugde. Als we in yin-kracht en liefde leven, het leven voelt echt goed. Maar in mijn ervaring, ik vind het moeilijk om in verbinding met de yin-kracht te blijven en om dat goed gevoel in de praktijk te onderhouden. (Nu hoor ik de Grootmoeders zeggen, “Er zullen uitdagingen zijn, natuurlijk. Dat is een deel van de pret.”)

Dus vandaag hebben we allemaal wat thuiswerk om te doen: om rustig te worden en de vragen van de Grootmoeders te beantwoorden. Wat is de boodschap van de Grootmoeders? Hoe kunnen onze levens dat weerspiegelen? Wat belemmert elk van ons, individueel, van deze boodschap in de praktijk te brengen? Hoe zou het voelen als die belemmering zou verdwijnen?

Succes met je thuiswerk. Laat me weten hoe het gaat, wat je ontdekt. Als je een commentaar hier achterlaat zal iedereen van jouw ervaring baat bij hebben (en waarschijnlijk zichzelf erin ook zien).

Vele warme groeten,

Golden Eagle Feather

 

English:

“Each one of you must ask this question: how can I bring the message of the Grandmothers into practice, how can my life mirror this message? And as soon as you have asked this question, the next comes up: what is holding me back from bringing this message into practice now? …. [After answering that question comes the next one:] Then ask: how do I feel when I let myself be obstructed from bringing this message into practice?” – The Grandmothers via Sharon McErlane in Our Love is Our Power, around p. 285

We all do things that are not good for us, but we can’t seem to stop ourselves from doing them. The list of compulsions and addictions is endless. If something makes us feel good – or bad – we can get addicted to it.

The Grandmothers’ message is fundamentally one of freedom, peace and joy. When we live in yin power and love, life feels really, really good. In my experience, however, I have a hard time staying connected to that yin power and maintaining that good feeling in practice. (Now I hear the Grandmothers saying, “There will be challenges, of course. That is part of the fun.”)

So we all have some homework today: to get quiet, ask the above questions, and give an honest answer to each of the questions. What is the Grandmothers’ message? How can our lives mirror it? What is obstructing each of us individually from bringing the Grandmothers’ message into practice? What would it feel like to have that obstruction, that handicap, disappear?

Good luck with your homework. Let me know what you find out – if you share a comment here, then everyone will benefit from your insights (and most likely see themselves in your experience).

Much love,

Golden Eagle Feather

 

Leave a Reply

