Daily Obsession: Life takes work, but…

These Daily Obsessions are like a vitamin for the soul. Take one daily for obsessive worrying and criticizing. The Grandmothers are but one face of the Divine; substitute another face if you prefer. For English, scroll down.

Nederlands:

Rouwen is goed, het geeft je diepgang en maakt je één met de aarde. … Er vond een heling plaats in mijn bloed, die me langzamer maakte en me aardde. Ik zou over de kracht van mijn oorspronkelijke natuur moeten beschikken om het werk van de Grootmoeders te kunnen uitvoeren. Het voelde goed om te aarden en het langzamer aan te doen.” – Sharon McErlane en Beer in De Grootmoeders spreken, p. 163

Recent ben ik geöbsedeerd geweest over een mogelijke verandering in mijn betaald werk, en over werk in het algemeen. Ik was van plan om over werk te schrijven (omdat ik een hopeloos yang persoon ben) maar met deze citaat hebben de Grootmoeders me weeral herinnerd waarom ik van hun leringen – en hun werk – zo veel van hou.

Deze citaat brengt me terug in contact met het idee dat mijn “werk” veel meer is dan mijn job. In feite, van de perspectief van de Grootmoeders, wat we doen voor geld is bijna irrelevant. (Zeg dat eens aan de wereld, en zie wie je gelooft!) Voor de Grootmoeders, wie we zijn, waarover we denken, hoe we doen wat het maar is dat we doen, zijn de enige dingen die tellen. Hoeveel we betaald worden of als we betaald worden in de eerste instantie nemen gewoon geen hoge plaats op hun lijstje van prioriteiten. Denk jij dat God het belangrijk vind als jij een kruisje gezet hebt bij elke item op jouw to-do lijstje? Natuurlijk niet!

Vandaag, bekijk jouw eigen denkpatroon over het werk. Natuurlijk moeten we allemaal werken om in leven te blijven – van de oermens naar CEO’s van multinationals, we moeten allemaal werken om te eten en om een graad van fysieke comfort te garanderen. Maar wat is jouw echt werk, vanuit de perspectief van de Grootmoeders? Hoe kan jij dat werk doen ongeacht van de bron van jouw geld?

Met liefde,

Golden Eagle Feather

 

English:

Grieving is good, it gives you depth and makes you one with the earth. … A healing was taking place in my blood, that made me slower and grounded me. I would have to possess the power of my original nature in order to do the work of the Grandmothers. It felt good to get grounded and to go slower.” – Sharon McErlane and Bear in A Call to Power, around p. 161

I have been obsessing recently about a possible change with my paid work, and about work in general. So I wanted to write about work (being the hopelessly yang person that I am) but with this quotation, the Grandmothers once again remind me of why I love their teachings – and their work – so much.

This quotation reminds me that my “work” is much more than my job. In fact, from their point of view, what we do for money is nearly irrelevant. (Tell that to the world and see who believes you!) To the Grandmothers, who we are, what we think about, how we do whatever it is we do, are the only things that matter. How much we get paid or whether we get paid at all is just not high on their priority list. Do you think God cares whether you cross everything off of your to-do list? Of course not!

Today, examine your own thinking about work. Of course it takes work to be alive – all of us, from hunter-gatherers to CEO’s of multinationals, have to work in order to stay alive and be physically comfortable. But what is your true work, from the Grandmothers’ point of view? How can you do that work regardless of where your money is coming from?

With love,

Golden Eagle Feather

 

 

2 comments on “Daily Obsession: Life takes work, but…

  1. AlwinOnline says:

    Very nice post, I’ve been through that already… but don’t we all?
    Not sure about grieving, but it should make you stronger only after..and if you’re are able to pass it.
    Thanks for sharing your messages.

Leave a Reply

